Pasta Fresca Da Salvatore – Mediocre Not Fantastic


For the first time in many entries, I am actually at a lost for words, literally. Normally, I would try my very best to recount my experiences over each meal in each entry. But now, it seems that everything has eluded me. My recollections, my will to find the right things to say, everything! Who is to be blamed for this temporal loss of inspiration? Certainly not the company which I had dinner with (E and P), they were almost fantastic. It cannot be the cost of the meal because we paid a total of $48 for a dinner worth $80. Then it must be the food. YES, the FOOD!

Well, it was not really all bad. The food was edible/passable. It is just that they did not leave any indelible impression on us.

Mare E Monti ($18.90), had a weird initial taste but it was not repulsive. All was OK after downing more spoonfuls of pasta. It is the sauce which makes this dish special, so says the restaurant. It is a mixture of tomato, cream and white wine, revealing a hint of black pepper.

I love my seafood. Alla Marinara ($19.90) had succulent prawns and rather delicious clams and mussels. However, it was severely let down by it’s spaghetti which was pretty tough even though I opted for the softer pasta. Anyway, this dish comes with two different styles of preparation. You can have it served with white wine or a tomato based sauce.

Al Salmone ($18.40) would have been the best dish among all three if not for it’s salmon. The fish was stale. That alone was enough to ruin everything.

I believe we were just out of luck because I do not remember experiencing such issues when I dined at another outlet a few months back (which was good actually). So, give them a chance and you may be pleasantly surprised.

Pasta Fresca Da Salvatore is at:

43 Cuppage Terrace , Singapore 229463 (5 other branches)

Opening Hours:

Mon – Sat : 11.30am to 3.30 pm | 6.00pm to 11.00pm

Sun and PH: 11.30am to 3.00pm | 6.00pm to 11.00pm

Tel: 6836 0739

Leave a Reply

