3 Simple Reasons Why Most People’s Photography Does Not Improve


I don’t claim to be a pro but these are some of the tips and my opinions I think are worthwhile sharing.

1) You didn’t take your camera with you.

The now famous adage, practice makes perfect, cannot be more true. As rehashed by Malcolm Gladwell in his book, “Outliers”, it takes 10,000 hours of sheer practice to be considered an elite in a field. Think The Beatles, Bob Dylan and many more. This equates to approximately 416.6 days. There is no substitute for hard work. Lugging around your DSLR may seem like a crazy idea to some but it really is all about getting used to your equipment and making sure you practice with something that you are going to grow yourself into and commit.

2) You are going too fast.

I am guilty of this. We often press the shutter button without slowing down our paces and think about what is really needed in the picture.

3) You are worried what others will think.

I was recently rapped at for taking one too many pictures with flash at an alfresco restaurant. I took it in my stride and continued to fire two more shots (with flash) after the incident. In the end, I got a picture which I liked it very much. Yes, it can be distracting with the flash going off but sometimes you do have to push the boundaries and luck to achieve just that one good shot. (I did think of the consequences actually!)

(Points adapted from Digital Photography School)

On a side note, the picture of the cat was taken at a bookshop.  I seldom find cats roaming around in shops and this one had a nonchalant attitude to it, which was quite funny.

4 thoughts on “3 Simple Reasons Why Most People’s Photography Does Not Improve

  1. I agree with you especially in first point. A lot of people think that camera will shoot photos without any practice in using, changing parameters etc. The best way to improve your skills is to practice, practice and once again practice.

  2. For me I think it’s more interesting to shoot photos now that I know more.
    Before I just used the “point&click” technique, like most people do. I didn’t think about composition or anything like that…

    It’s ok to practice, but I don’t feel any need to in the elite, so I can use some of my 10.000 hours on other things 🙂

Leave a Reply

