Round the bend, tucked away at a corner, a nice little place.


Amidst the hustle and bustle of Orchard Road, there is this little place stolled away at a corner of *SCAPE which seemed rather out of place if you want my honest opinion. Nevermind the angst filled teenagers wrecking havoc with their skateboards, nevermind the outlandish outfits that they donned which did not agree with my taste, for a certain Raindrops Cafe suddenly made me feel magnanimous and smile at those pesky sk8terbois who rode into my path.

As the name suggests, the idea of seeing tiny raindrops doing their thing on the glass panels which surrounded the premise would be a fabulous one but alas, it was hot as you-know-what that day. But it is ok. As long as the place is fully air-conditioned, I would be more than grateful. But I digress.

I am someone who places ambience over food. Raindrops Cafe, with its open concept was beautiful to say the least. Bright and very white. Yes very white. When I say very white, I am trying to bring across the idea of a very immaculate place. It was as though you could disregard the 5 second rule and start eating from the floor. I don’t know, but I felt like I was in a cottage at a far away land, slipping into a silent reverie every now and then, only to be thrown back to reality with a plate of ordinary Mushroom Cheese Pasta in front of me.

Big ol' tree outside. Evidence that I was in a cottage
You're gonna need these right?

To be honest, I didn’t quite like the food. It was normal. Nothing to write about. Ok. Move on.

For furious note-taking for a certain E
Unwrap

So remember the mantra: Round the bend, tucked away at a corner, a nice little place. Get treated by the atmosphere not the food.

Leave a Reply

